SriRanga Gadyam Pravachanam 2

Day 2 SriRanga Gadyam Pravachanam important points:

Please click the link below to download the recording of pravachanam 2:

After saranagathi gadhyam, Bhagavath Ramanuja continues to recite sriranga gadhyam in glorification of SriRanganatha.

• Sriranga Gadhyam is also known as MITHAGADYAM because of its shortness as compared to Sharanagathi gadyam (Pruthugadhyam). 
• It has 7 Churnikas in SriRanga Gadhyam.
• The Number 7 has so many specialities-
   There are 7 prakarams at SriRangam temple that relate to the 7 lokams[7 worlds] each of which is said to be a step in leading us to Sri Vaikuntam.

• The path as prescribed by Sri Ramanuja for developing purity of mind is as follows
 1. Viveka- discrimination between right and wrong and following the right
 2. Vimokha- resisting sensual pleasures (kamam)
 3. Abhasyam- practice of disciplines like japa, aradhana , temple visit etc.
 4. Kriya- performing the duties of life as prescribed.
 5. Kalyana- practice of right virtues
 6. Anavasaadha- freedom from depression and maintaining a cheerful attitude.
 7. Anuddharsa- maintaining calm without yielding excessively to excitement, despair etc.

Thus by practicing these, we can develop purity of mind.
It is also known as Sadhana Saptakam.

• Before entering in to first churnika, we pray to Sri Ramanuja with following verse:

chidachitparatatvAnAm * tatvayAthAtmyavEdinE | 
rAmAnujAya munayE * namO mama garIyasE ||

Sriramanuja charya is the KNOWER of Siddhantha Trayam (3 Tatwas):

1) Chith(with gyanam, knowledge)
2) Achith(without gyanam) 
3) Param  (supreme entity, sriman narayanan).

• In the first churnika, bhagavadh ramanuja expresses his desire for kainkaryam to Srimanarayana.
• There are two types of entities.
They are Chethanas and Achethanas.

• In chethanas, there are 3 types
 1) Bhadhdhas
 2) Mukhtas
 3) Nithyas

• In Achethanas,there are 3 types
 1) Sudhdha sathva(Sathva-Pure Goodness)
 2) Misra sathva (mixture of Sathva,rajas and thamas)
 3) Kala thathvam (Time)

• For these two major entities, chethana and achethana, we need to look at their svarupam, sthithi and pravruththi

• Svarupam is basic identity or basic nature.
• Sthithi is sustenance.
• Pravruththi is activity.

• Bhadhdhathma’s  sthithi (sustenance) is experiencing papa (sin) or punya (virtue), which is either sadness or happiness. His pravruththi (activity) is doing karma (deed) which will end as either papa or punya.

• Mukthathma’s sthithi is experiencing happiness by carrying out kainkaryam. His pravruththi is experiencing bhagavan’s auspicious qualities as well as constantly praying to bhagavan and doing physical kainkaryam too.

• For nithyathma’s, the svarupam is not having any contact with samsaram. His sthiti is experiencing happines by carrying out endless kainkaryam. His pravruththi is having constant dharsan (vision) of bhagavan.

• Bhagavan controls all the six chethana and achethana entities by being their antharathma. He controls their svarupam, sthithi and pravruththi.

* Five types of A:dya:thmika Kle:sams

1. Avidya -  not having proper attitude towards real ultimate happiness due to bhra:nthi

2. Asmitham- I (body) am enjoying the pleasures due to Ahamka:ram

3. Agnive:sam- desire to have abundant Dhanam, Keerthi, prathishta etc. due to getting deep into prakruthi

4. Ra;gam - desire to have pleasures(sukham)

5. Dwe:sham- desire to avoid sadness(duhkham)

* Reasons behind for Parama:thma's birth/ avatharana - due to Jna:nam/sankalpam, and Jeeva:thma's birth due to karma/ va:sana:s

* Innumerable incredible divine qualities (kalya:na guna:s) in an infinite quantity of paramathma, The Supreme Soul - It is difficult to count or measure them even for Vedas.

* First Set of six Kalya:na guna:s of the Parama;thama - to create, protect, and absorb The entire Universe
1. Jna:nam - Knowing about everything at a time like anantha avadha:nam
2. Balam- keeping every object in its respective positions
3. Aishwaryam- E:swarathwam-commading all the a:thma:s to perform ones duties
4. Vee:ryam - Performing His chosen duties without changing the physical/mental status
5. Sakthi - Antharya:mithwam-to influence all the jeevas to have chaithanyam
6. The:jassu- controlling the souls to do ones duties/ or alter as per His command

  Jna:nam, & sakthi- as Aniruddha-  Create 
  Balam, & aishwaryam- as pradhyumna- Protect
 Veeryam, &the:jassu- as Sankarshana- Absorb

* Second Set of Twelve Kalya:na guna:s of the Parama;thama - to do Asrith Rakshana - to protect the devotees
1. Souseelyam- mingle with everyone irrespective of their status. ex :SriRama - Guha, sabari, Vibheeshana; Sri Krishna-Kuche:la
2. Va:thsalyam- protect the devotees irrespective of their bad qualities/do:sha:s- Cow, and new born calf; Sri Krishna as Ratha sa:radhi to Arjuna
3. Ruju pravarthana- HaveThrikarana Suddhi - Karma, Vaacha, and karme:na- deeds should be in sync with think, speak, and action
4. Sa:myam- treating everyone equally, with no discrimination 
5. Ka:runyam- Daya- feeling others happiness as His happiness, and vice versa
6. Ma:dhuryam- sweetness -He is personification of sweetness- ex: as described in Madhura:shtakam
Next Post »

Statue Of Equality