Sharanagati Gadyam Pravachanam 4

Day 4 Sharanagathi Gadyam Pravachanam important points:
Please click the link below to download the recording of pravachanam 4:

·         In the first churnika, Sri Ramanuja has elaborated about piratti’s ability to grant facilitate saranagathi.
·          Jeevatma wants involvement in kainkaryam (service) and to have complete belief in saranagathi (Viswasam).
·         Our purvacharyas rolemodel that humility for us through naichya anusandhanam.

Churnika 2:
Paramarthika bhagavachcharanaravindha yugala aikanthikathyanthika parabhakthi paragyana paramabhakthikrutha paripurnanavaratha nithya visadhathama ananyaprayojana anavadhikathisaya priya bhagavadhanubhavajanitha anavadhikathisaya prithikaritha aseshavasthochitha asesha seshathaikarithirupa nithya kainkarya prapthapekshaya, paramarthiki bhagavachcharanaravindha saranagathi: yathavasthitha avirathasthu me !!


·         Paramarthika  means both prayojanam (end result or goal) and truth.
·         Bhagavach charana aravindha – the term bhagavan is added here to highlight the superiority of his feet.
·         Yugala  – enjoyment born out of the pair of lotus feet
·         Aikanthika – there is only one goal, there is no second
·         Athyanthika – focused on bhagavan alone
·         Parabhakthi – the love of bhagavan is such that there is joy in his company and sorrow in separation from him.
·         Paragyana – parabhakthi stage blooms into seeing bhagavan. Thus it is called dharsana sakshathkaram – i.e. Having true vision of bhagavan.
·         Paramabhakthi – the end stage of parabhakthi wherein it is impossible to be away from bhagavan. Life ceases when separation happens. Sri ramanuja initially asked for gyana, then bhakthi .with these two, bhagavan takes him to the stage reached by bhakthi yogi so that he attains paramabhakthi without having to go through the efforts put in by a bhakthi yogi. Beyond this, sri ramanuja desires other stages as explained below.
·         Krutha – resulting from parabhakthi, paragnana, paramabhakthi
·         Paripurna – here it refers to the ability to experience bhagavan‘s swarupa, rupa, guna, vibhava  – all at the same time, completely, without any hurdle. With our limited sensory organs, it is not possible even to think of enjoying these qualities of bhagavan which are infinite. Only after attaining parabhakthi, paragyana and paramabhakthi, we can enjoy these.
·         Anavaratha – experiencing and enjoying bhagavan‘s qualities continuously, without any break.
·         Nithya – permanently, until such time that athma exists. (since athma always exists, the experience also will be always existing).
·         Visadha thama – the third stage of anubhavam or experience. First stage is visadha which is attained through parabhakthi. The 2nd stage, visadha thara is attained through paragyana and the final visadha thama through paramabhakthi.
·         Ananya prayojana – experiencing and enjoying bhagavan‘s qualities without wishing to experience anything else.
·         Anavadhika athisaya priya – love towards bhagavan that is never reducing despite experiencing continuously, in a  wonderful manner
·         Bhagavadhanubhava – the experience that athma gets after it leaves behind the last physical form (in which it carried out saranagathi) and reaches paramapadham (srivaikuntam) through archiradhigathi (the path that takes the athma through 12 different worlds before crossing vraja river and getting into srivaikuntam). The bhagavadhanubhavam that one gets in leela vibhuthi (samsaram – material realm) is limited while at nithya vibhuthi (srivaikuntam – spiritual realm) it is unlimited.
·         Janitha anavadhika athisaya prithi karitha – the bhagavadhanubhavam gives birth to  deep love that is always overflowing and is wonderful.
·         Asesha avasthochitha – without leaving anything,  in all states, doing what the Lord desires.
·         Asesha seshathaikarathirupa – just as ananthalwar (Adhi seshan) carries out kainkaryam in multifarious ways, carrying out all kainkaryams in itself becomes the shape of the athma‘s love
·         Nithya – the kainkaryam done is not just once or twice but for ever, permanently. The athma once he reaches srivaikuntam, does not every get back to earth for another birth. Hence it is kainkaryam that is there forever.
·         Kainkarya prapthi apekshaya – desire for carrying out such kainkaryam
·         Paramarthiki – being completely and totally involved in kainkaryam
·         Bhagavath – as one who possesses the 6(gyana, bhala, aiswarya, virya, sakthi, thejas.) Qualities does not seek anything else in order to reach his lotus feet
·         Charana aravindha – highlights the means for saranagathi
·         Saranagathi – holding on to him
·         Yathavasthitha – as it is
·         Avirathasthu me – this should happen to me without any break or hurdle; i.e. Having reached His lotus feet, and getting the opportunity to carry out kainkaryam, it should be there for me for ever without any break.

3rd churnika:

Asthu the !!


Piratti(sriranga nayaki Tayar) gave response to Sri Bhagavth Ramanuja that “Let it happen to you!”.

4th churnika:

Thayaiva sarvam sampathsyathe !!


Whatever you have prayed for, starting from paramabhakthi to carry out kainkaryam, with all the intervening stages such as paramagyana, paramabhakthi etc, let it all happen to you!
With this , we have completed the first part of saranagathi gadhyam, in which sri ramanuja first approaches piratti  to carrying out saranagathi to bhagavan so that she will perform her role of purushakaram (one who recommends).

Next Post »

Statue Of Equality